Garmin / Review
Garmin Enduro 3 review: the longest GPS battery Garmin publishes, in the lightest fenix-class case
Sapphire and titanium at 63 grams, preloaded maps, a flashlight, and a solar battery figure no other Garmin document matches. The review is short because the spec sheet does the talking, except for the one line it leaves out.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-sheet researched, not worn by us
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The verdict
The watch and its alternatives
Stock photoThe watch under review
Garmin Enduro 3
Solar GPS8.5 /10320 GPS hours with solar, 90 days smartwatch, sapphire, titanium, 63 g, maps, flashlight. Score below.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Enduro 3
Stock photoAlternative: the one with a dive rating
Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Solar GPS8.7 /10Same sapphire and titanium, 40 m dive rating, speaker, 653 max-battery hours with solar.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Stock photoAlternative: the one without maps
Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
Solar GPS8.7 /10Unlimited with solar, 10 ATM, half the price, no maps.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)

Verdict and score
What it is built for
Garmin's release calls it a lightweight ultraperformance GPS smartwatch with best-in-class solar battery life, and lists a 51mm titanium bezel, a scratch-resistant sapphire lens, an UltraFit nylon band, 63 grams, preloaded TopoActive maps, an always-on display and a built-in LED flashlight with red and strobe modes. Take out the marketing and you have a fenix 8 body tuned for a single job: run GPS for a very long time while weighing as little as possible. Thru-hikers, multi-day ultrarunners and backcountry hunters are the buyers.
Battery: the numbers Garmin gives
- Up to 320 hours in GPS mode with solar charging.
- Up to 120 hours with multi-band SatIQ GPS.
- Up to 90 days in smartwatch mode.
Garmin publishes these as headline figures in the release rather than as the full six-row table it publishes for the fenix 8 and Instinct 3, so we cannot show you the without-solar GPS-only or expedition rows. Against the fenix 8 Solar 51mm (95 GPS-only hours, 149 with solar; 30 days smartwatch, 48 with solar) the Enduro leads comfortably in the modes people use; the fenix's 653-hour max-battery figure is a lower-rate mode and not the same comparison. The fenix 8 vs Enduro 3 page sets them side by side.
Durability, and the line Garmin leaves out
Sapphire lens, titanium bezel, MIP display, flashlight. And no water rating in the release. The fenix 8 release says "40-meter dive-rated case"; the Enduro 3 release says nothing about water, and we will not fill the gap with a guess. If you swim or paddle with your watch, either find the figure on Garmin's own product page before you buy or buy the fenix, whose number is in writing. For a trail watch, it is a footnote; for a one-watch-for-everything buyer, it is the deciding line.
Weight and the nylon strap
Sixty-three grams is the number to remember. It comes from the titanium bezel and the UltraFit nylon band, which dries fast, breathes, and wears out sooner than silicone. Put a silicone strap on it and most of the advantage over a fenix 8 51mm disappears; keep the nylon and replace it every couple of years. The hiking watch rankings weigh this against the COROS and Suunto options.
Who should skip it
Anyone who needs a stated water rating: the fenix 8 Solar. Anyone who does not need maps: the Instinct 3 Solar, rated unlimited for half the money. Anyone who wants a speaker, dive activities or a bright screen: also the fenix. The Enduro is a specialist, and it is very good at its specialty.
In detail
Spec sheet and score
Stock photoThe watch under review
Garmin Enduro 3
320 GPS hours with solar, 90 days smartwatch, sapphire, titanium, 63 g, maps, flashlight. Score below.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 90 days in smartwatch mode |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 320 hours in GPS mode with solar charging; up to 120 hours with multi-band SatIQ |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens |
| Bezel & case | 51mm titanium bezel; UltraFit nylon band |
| Maps & GPS | Preloaded TopoActive maps |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable brightness, red light and strobe |
| Weight | 63 grams |
How the 8.5 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 9
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- 320 GPS hours with solar is the largest GPS figure Garmin publishes for any watch we list.
- Lighter than a 51mm fenix 8 thanks to the nylon strap and titanium bezel.
- Sapphire and preloaded maps.
Where it falls short
- Garmin's Enduro 3 release does not state a water rating or MIL-STD line, so we do not claim them here.
- The nylon strap is the point of the weight; a silicone strap adds it back.
Skip this if…
…you swim or dive with your watch and need a stated depth rating; the fenix 8 gives you one.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Enduro 3
Stock photoAlternative: the one with a dive rating
Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Same sapphire and titanium, 40 m dive rating, speaker, 653 max-battery hours with solar.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 30 days typical use; up to 48 days with solar |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 95 hours GPS-only; up to 149 hours with solar |
| Battery (max GPS) | Up to 186 hours max-battery GPS; up to 653 hours with solar |
| Battery (solar) | Expedition GPS mode up to 50 days; up to 118 days with solar |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens (sapphire versions) |
| Bezel & case | Titanium bezel (sapphire versions); leakproof metal buttons; sensor guard |
| Water rating | 40-meter dive-rated case |
| MIL-STD-810 | Tested to U.S. military standards for thermal, shock and water resistance |
| Maps & GPS | TopoActive maps preloaded on sapphire versions |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable intensities, red light and strobe |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 10
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 10
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Sapphire, titanium and leakproof metal buttons on a case Garmin dive-rates to 40 m.
- 653 hours of max-battery GPS with solar is the longest figure in Garmin's fenix 8 table.
- Preloaded topo maps, a speaker and mic, and a flashlight.
Where it falls short
- A MIP display in a world of AMOLEDs; that is also why the battery lasts.
- The fenix 9 Pro (August 2026) now sits above it in the line, with a titanium case and solar on select models.
- Big: 51mm is a lot of watch under a sleeve.
Skip this if…
…you have never used the maps on a watch; the Instinct 3 Solar gives you the battery for half the money.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Stock photoAlternative: the one without maps
Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
Unlimited with solar, 10 ATM, half the price, no maps.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 8
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Garmin's own table shows the 50mm solar model doubling the 45mm in GPS-with-solar hours (260 vs 130).
- Physical buttons, a monochrome display readable in full sun, and a flashlight with a red mode.
- 10 ATM rating and a MIL-STD 810 claim on a watch that costs less than half a fenix.
Where it falls short
- No maps: it navigates breadcrumb trails and waypoints, not topo maps.
- The solar figures assume three hours a day at 50,000 lux, which is midday sun, not a sleeve.
- Garmin does not name the lens material; treat it as strengthened glass, not sapphire.
Skip this if…
…you need on-wrist topo maps, or you wear long sleeves and work indoors, where the solar math never happens.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
How we scored this
Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
How long does the Garmin Enduro 3 battery last?
Garmin states up to 320 hours in GPS mode with solar, up to 120 hours with multi-band SatIQ, and up to 90 days in smartwatch mode.
Is the Enduro 3 waterproof?
Garmin's Enduro 3 release does not state a water rating, so we do not print one. The fenix 8 release states a 40 m dive rating.
Does the Enduro 3 have a sapphire lens?
Yes, Garmin lists a scratch-resistant sapphire lens and a titanium bezel.
Keep reading
Related on Bezel & Bearing
Receipts
Sources
- Garmin newsroom — Enduro 3 press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — fenix 8 Series Owner's Manual, Battery Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — fenix 8 Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.