Built to Last / Guide
How long do solar watches last? Three kinds of solar, and what each maker actually promises
A solar watch has a rechargeable cell under the panel, and the cell is the part that ages. How fast depends on which of three technologies the word 'solar' is covering. Here is what Casio, Citizen and Garmin say, and what they leave out.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-sheet researched, not worn by us
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Three things "solar" means
- Casio Tough Solar. A panel under the dial charges a rechargeable cell that runs a digital module drawing microamps. Casio's guides give an "approximate battery operating time" in the dark from a full charge, list the usage assumptions, and describe cell replacement as a job for a service center. No cable exists.
- Citizen Eco-Drive. The same idea in an analog: Citizen's page says the movement is "powered by any light source, continuously and sustainably, eliminating the need to replace watch batteries." Citizen's page for the BN0151 does not state a dark-running reserve, so we print none.
- Garmin solar lens. A transparent solar layer in the crystal that tops up a lithium cell driving a GPS chip and a screen. Garmin's tables give with-and-without figures and a footnote: the solar column assumes all-day wear with three hours a day outside at 50,000 lux.
How long a solar watch lasts without sunlight
| Watch | Maker's figure, no light | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| G-Shock GW-M5610U | About 10 months | Casio: alarm once a day, light 1.5 s/day, power saving 6 h/day |
| G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400 | About 8 months (to Level 4) | Casio: light 1.5 s/day, 20 compass readings/month, one climb/month, signal receive 4 min/day |
| Pro Trek PRG-340 | 7 months used; 27 in power save | G-Central report of Casio's announcement |
| G-Shock Mudman, Mudmaster, Pro Trek PRW-61 | About 6 months | Casio: similar listed usage |
| Garmin Instinct 3 Solar 50mm | 40 days smartwatch | Garmin: the non-solar column of its table |
| Garmin fenix 8 Solar 51mm | 30 days smartwatch | Garmin: non-solar column |
| Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151 | Not stated on Citizen's page | — |
The Casio figures describe a watch in a drawer; on a wrist that sees daylight, the cell never runs down. The Garmin figures describe a watch worn indoors; outdoors, Garmin says unlimited (Instinct) or 48 days (fenix 8 51mm). Same word, two different physics.
The cell underneath, and how it ages
Years of service: what can be said
No maker we cite publishes a cell life in years, and we will not invent one. What the documents support: a Casio Tough Solar cell is a serviceable part, and Casio's guides describe the replacement path; Citizen markets Eco-Drive as eliminating battery replacement; Garmin describes a "rechargeable, built-in lithium-ion battery" and no user replacement. So the honest ordering for a decade is Casio and Citizen first (slow aging, serviceable), then a solar Garmin worn outdoors (slow aging, sealed), then a solar Garmin worn indoors (normal aging, sealed). The Casio side is detailed on G-Shock solar battery replacement, the Garmin side on how long Garmin watches last.
The picks
Our picks for this
One of each kind of solar
A Tough Solar digital, an Eco-Drive analog and a solar GPS watch, each the best of its kind on the site.
Stock photoBest for a decade without a charger
G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400
Solar, no charger8.7/10About 8 months in the dark, indefinite in light, serviceable cell, no charger.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400
Stock photoBest solar analog watch
Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L
Solar, no charger7.9/10Eco-Drive on an ISO 200 m diver with a five-year limited warranty.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L
Stock photoBest for a decade of GPS without a charger
Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
Solar GPS8.7/10Unlimited with solar, 40 days without; the fewest cycles of any GPS watch.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
How to make yours last
- Let it see light. Casio's guides say to leave the watch where it gets light when not worn and not to let a sleeve cover the face.
- Turn off auto-light on a Casio; the guides name it as the drain.
- On a Garmin, avoid always-on and wear it outdoors; both cut cycles, per Garmin's tables.
- Charge a Garmin within its stated range (0°C to 45°C on the Instinct 3).
- Have a Casio cell replaced by a service center, which checks the gaskets; do not open the back at home.
The ranking that follows from all this is best solar watches.
How we scored this
Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
How long do solar watches last without sunlight?
Casio rates its Tough Solar models at about 6 to 10 months from a full charge in the dark (8 on the Rangeman, 10 on the GW-M5610U, 27 in power save on the PRG-340). Garmin rates the Instinct 3 Solar at 40 days and the fenix 8 Solar 51mm at 30 days without solar.
Do solar watch batteries need replacing?
Eventually, on a Casio: the guides describe the rechargeable cell as a service-center replacement years out, with a water-resistance check. Citizen says Eco-Drive eliminates battery replacement. Garmin's lithium cell is built in and not described as user-replaceable.
How long do Garmin solar watches last?
Garmin publishes battery per charge (unlimited with solar on the Instinct 3 Solar under its 50,000-lux assumption), not a lifespan. The solar lens reduces charge cycles, which slows the cell's aging; it does not make the cell replaceable.
Keep reading
Related on Bezel & Bearing
Receipts
Sources
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3410 (GW-9400 Rangeman), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3495 (GW-M5610U), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3553 (GW-9500 Mudman), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- G-Central — Pro Trek PRG-340 announcement (size, weight, water rating, battery) (checked 2026-09-20)
- Citizen — Promaster Dive BN0151-09L product page (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — fenix 8 Series Owner's Manual, Battery Information (checked 2026-09-20)
We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.