Garmin / Head to head
Garmin fenix 8 vs Enduro 3: the same sapphire and titanium, split by hours and by water
The Enduro 3 is a fenix 8 chassis stripped for battery: nylon strap, 63 grams, 320 GPS hours with solar. The fenix 8 Solar keeps the dive rating, the speaker and a max-battery mode that runs even longer. Garmin's numbers, side by side.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-sheet researched, not worn by us
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side
Stock photoBuy this for water and completeness
Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Solar GPS8.7 /1040 m dive rating, leakproof buttons, speaker and mic, 653 max-battery hours with solar.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Stock photoBuy this for hours and grams
Garmin Enduro 3
Solar GPS8.5 /10320 GPS hours with solar, 90 days smartwatch, 63 g on a nylon strap. No stated water rating.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Enduro 3

Verdict
Specs that differ
Hours: which table wins
Garmin publishes them differently. The Enduro 3 release states 320 hours in GPS mode with solar, 120 hours with multi-band, and 90 days in smartwatch mode. The fenix 8 Solar 51mm manual states 95 GPS-only hours (149 with solar), 52 multi-band hours (65 with solar), 186 max-battery hours (653 with solar) and 30 days smartwatch (48 with solar). In the standard GPS mode, the Enduro leads by a wide margin; in Garmin's lowest-rate max-battery mode, the fenix 8 Solar's 653-hour figure is the largest number in either document. Which matters depends on whether you record at full rate or in a battery-saving mode; for a thru-hiker recording all day, the Enduro's standard-mode figure is the one that counts.
The water rating Garmin does not state
We only print what a maker publishes. The fenix 8 release says "40-meter dive-rated case" and "leakproof metal buttons." The Enduro 3 release lists sapphire, titanium, weight, battery, maps and flashlight, and no water rating. That does not mean the Enduro 3 is not water resistant; it means we cannot tell you the number from Garmin's announcement, and we will not guess. If you need a dive rating you can cite, the fenix 8 is the one that has it in writing.
Weight and the strap
Garmin states 63 g for the Enduro 3 with its UltraFit nylon band; it does not state the fenix 8 51mm weight in the release we cite. The nylon band is the Enduro's weight secret and its first consumable: it dries fast, it wears, and it is replaceable. A fenix 8 on a nylon band closes much of the gap.
Who should buy neither
Someone who does not need maps: the Instinct 3 Solar is rated unlimited in smartwatch mode for half the money. Someone who wants the newest fenix: the fenix 9 Pro, announced August 25, 2026, adds a titanium case and solar on select models; see the offline maps rankings.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Stock photoBuy this for water and completeness
Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
40 m dive rating, leakproof buttons, speaker and mic, 653 max-battery hours with solar.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 30 days typical use; up to 48 days with solar |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 95 hours GPS-only; up to 149 hours with solar |
| Battery (max GPS) | Up to 186 hours max-battery GPS; up to 653 hours with solar |
| Battery (solar) | Expedition GPS mode up to 50 days; up to 118 days with solar |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens (sapphire versions) |
| Bezel & case | Titanium bezel (sapphire versions); leakproof metal buttons; sensor guard |
| Water rating | 40-meter dive-rated case |
| MIL-STD-810 | Tested to U.S. military standards for thermal, shock and water resistance |
| Maps & GPS | TopoActive maps preloaded on sapphire versions |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable intensities, red light and strobe |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 10
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 10
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Sapphire, titanium and leakproof metal buttons on a case Garmin dive-rates to 40 m.
- 653 hours of max-battery GPS with solar is the longest figure in Garmin's fenix 8 table.
- Preloaded topo maps, a speaker and mic, and a flashlight.
Where it falls short
- A MIP display in a world of AMOLEDs; that is also why the battery lasts.
- The fenix 9 Pro (August 2026) now sits above it in the line, with a titanium case and solar on select models.
- Big: 51mm is a lot of watch under a sleeve.
Skip this if…
…you have never used the maps on a watch; the Instinct 3 Solar gives you the battery for half the money.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Stock photoBuy this for hours and grams
Garmin Enduro 3
320 GPS hours with solar, 90 days smartwatch, 63 g on a nylon strap. No stated water rating.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 90 days in smartwatch mode |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 320 hours in GPS mode with solar charging; up to 120 hours with multi-band SatIQ |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens |
| Bezel & case | 51mm titanium bezel; UltraFit nylon band |
| Maps & GPS | Preloaded TopoActive maps |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable brightness, red light and strobe |
| Weight | 63 grams |
How the 8.5 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 9
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- 320 GPS hours with solar is the largest GPS figure Garmin publishes for any watch we list.
- Lighter than a 51mm fenix 8 thanks to the nylon strap and titanium bezel.
- Sapphire and preloaded maps.
Where it falls short
- Garmin's Enduro 3 release does not state a water rating or MIL-STD line, so we do not claim them here.
- The nylon strap is the point of the weight; a silicone strap adds it back.
Skip this if…
…you swim or dive with your watch and need a stated depth rating; the fenix 8 gives you one.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Enduro 3
How we scored this
Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Which has better battery, fenix 8 or Enduro 3?
In standard GPS mode, the Enduro 3 (320 hours with solar vs 149). In Garmin's max-battery GPS mode the fenix 8 Solar 51mm is rated 653 hours with solar. In smartwatch mode, the Enduro 3 at 90 days vs 48 with solar.
Is the Enduro 3 waterproof?
Garmin's Enduro 3 release does not state a water rating, so we do not print one. The fenix 8 release states a 40 m dive rating.
Does the Enduro 3 have maps?
Yes, preloaded TopoActive maps, per Garmin's release.
Keep reading
Related on Bezel & Bearing
Receipts
Sources
- Garmin — fenix 8 Series Owner's Manual, Battery Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — fenix 8 Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — Enduro 3 press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — fenix 9 and fenix 9 Pro press release (checked 2026-09-20)
We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.