Skip to content
Bezel & Bearing

Built to Last / Guide

MIP vs AMOLED battery life: what the color screen costs, in the makers' own numbers

Every rugged watch brand now sells the same watch with two screens. One of them is the reason the battery figure has a 'days' column at all. Here is every pair on this site, both tables, no estimates.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Macro of a dive watch dial and rotating bezel
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific watch reviewed on this page.

The two screens, in the makers' words

Every brand in this category now sells the same watch twice, and the only difference in the box is the screen. Garmin's fenix 8 announcement puts the choice in one sentence: "Choose between a bright AMOLED display or an always-on display with a solar charging lens that harnesses the power of the sun." The Instinct 3 release says the same thing about a cheaper watch, "now offered with a brilliant AMOLED or solar-powered display for maximum battery life." Notice which half of each sentence carries the word battery.

The two technologies work in opposite ways, and that is the whole story:

  • MIP (memory-in-pixel), also called a transflective or memory LCD. Each pixel holds its own state and draws power only when it changes, and the screen is lit by ambient light rather than from behind. A static watch face costs almost nothing to display. Garmin markets these as "always-on" displays and, on the fenix 7 Pro, described "redesigned pixels, backlight and solar panel" that "improve indoor readability, providing increased brightness, power efficiency and adaptability." COROS calls the VERTIX 2S panel a "1.4-inch touchscreen always-on memory LCD, 280 x 280." Suunto calls the first-generation Vertical's a "1.4-inch matrix (MIP)" display.
  • AMOLED. Every lit pixel emits its own light, so the screen is excellent in a dark tent and expensive to leave on. Suunto lists the Vertical 2 as a "1.5-inch LTPO AMOLED, 466 x 466." Garmin's fenix 9 Pro release quotes "up to 3,000 nits of brightness." Resolution and brightness are where the draw goes.

How to compare them honestly

Most comparisons of these screens are unusable because they put two different watches side by side and blame the panel for the difference. A bigger case holds a bigger cell; a mapping watch draws more than a breadcrumb watch; a solar lens changes the arithmetic again. So this page follows four rules, and every number below is taken from the maker's own battery table or press release, linked in the sources at the foot of the page.

  1. Same watch, same size, both screens. The only pairs that prove anything are the ones where the maker sells one case in two panels. There are two of those on this site, plus one generational pair.
  2. Quote the mode, not the headline. A number without a mode is marketing. Smartwatch mode, GPS-only, all-systems, max-battery and expedition are five different questions, and the gap between the screens changes in each.
  3. Always-on versus gesture is stated, not assumed. An AMOLED figure quoted without saying which one it is remains the single most misleading number in this category. See below.
  4. Solar figures stay in their own column. Garmin's solar numbers assume all-day wear with three hours a day outside at 50,000 lux. We keep them separate so you can plan on the figure that does not depend on the weather. That footnote is decoded in full on Garmin solar explained.

Same watch, both screens

Pair one: Garmin Instinct 3, 50mm. Identical case, identical metal-reinforced bezel, identical 10 ATM rating, identical flashlight, identical MIL-STD-810 line. One has a solar-charging MIP screen, one has an AMOLED. Garmin's two owner's-manual battery tables:

Mode (Instinct 3, 50mm)Solar (MIP)AMOLED
Smartwatch mode40 days; unlimited with solar24 days gesture; 9 days always-on
GPS only60 h; 260 h with solar40 h
Max-battery GPS150 h; unlimited with solar86 h
Expedition GPS60 days; unlimited with solarNot quoted at this size

Strip the solar column out entirely and the MIP model still wins every row: 40 days against 24, 60 GPS hours against 40, 150 max-battery hours against 86. The panel is doing that, not the lens. The full head-to-head, including the ten-year charge-cycle count, is on Instinct 3 Solar vs AMOLED.

Pair two: Garmin fenix 8, 47mm. Same sapphire lens, same titanium bezel, same 40-meter dive rating, same maps, same speaker. Same size, so the cell is comparable:

Mode (fenix 8, 47mm)Solar (MIP)AMOLED
Smartwatch mode21 days; 28 days with solar16 days gesture; 7 days always-on
GPS only67 h; 92 h with solar47 h gesture; 37 h always-on
Max-battery GPS132 h; 283 h with solar81 h

The gap is narrower than on the Instinct because a mapping watch with a speaker spends power on things that are not the screen. It is still a gap in every row, and it doubles once always-on is turned on. Garmin's own framing at the largest size makes the same point: the fenix 8 release states that "the 51mm AMOLED model offers up to 29 days of battery life in smartwatch mode" while "the 51mm solar model with an always-on display offers up to 48 days." Read that carefully, because Garmin specifies always-on for the solar model and does not specify it for the AMOLED. Every mode of the fenix 8 table is laid out on fenix 8 battery life.

Pair three: Suunto Vertical, one generation apart. This is not a like-for-like pair, because the Vertical 2 is a newer watch with newer internals, but it is the clearest cross-brand illustration available: Suunto replaced a MIP screen with an AMOLED in the same product line and published both spec sheets.

Suunto VerticalTitanium Solar (1.4-inch matrix / MIP)Vertical 2 (1.5-inch LTPO AMOLED)
Daily use30 days; 60 days with solar20 days
Standby60 days; up to 1 year with solar40 days
Multi-band GPS65 h; 90 h with solar65 h (60 h always-on)
Power-saving GNSSUp to 500 hUp to 250 h

The multi-band GPS row is identical at 65 hours, which is the honest part of the AMOLED case: during an activity the GPS chip is the dominant draw and the screen matters less. Every other row halves. The full write-up is in the Suunto Vertical 2 review.

Figures as published by the maker; each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources.

The always-on setting is the argument

A MIP screen is always on. That is not a setting; it is the technology. It shows the time when you are looking at it, when you are not, and when your arm is by your side, and it costs the same either way.

An AMOLED has to choose. Leave it dark until you raise your wrist and it is frugal; leave it lit and it is not. Garmin publishes both figures, and the spread is the number nobody quotes:

WatchGesture (wakes on wrist turn)Always-onWhat always-on costs
Instinct 3 AMOLED 50mm24 days9 daysRoughly two thirds of the days
fenix 8 AMOLED 47mm (smartwatch)16 days7 daysRoughly half the days
fenix 8 AMOLED 47mm (GPS)47 h37 hAbout 10 GPS hours

So the fair comparison is not 24 days against 40. If you want the behavior a MIP screen gives you for free, which is a watch face you can read without moving, the Instinct 3 AMOLED gives you 9 days and the solar model gives you 40, or unlimited with sun. That is a four-fold difference on the same case.

What happens once GPS is running

This is where the AMOLED case is strongest and where a lot of MIP advocacy overstates itself. Tracking a multi-band GPS fix costs far more than lighting a screen, so the panel's share of the draw falls. The Suunto pair shows it exactly: 65 multi-band hours on the MIP model and 65 on the AMOLED one.

Garmin's tables show the same compression. On the fenix 8 47mm the smartwatch gap is 21 days against 16, while the GPS-only gap is 67 hours against 47 and narrows further in the modes that already cut the GPS duty cycle. On the Instinct 3, which is not a mapping watch and therefore has less non-screen draw to hide behind, the gap stays wide: 60 GPS hours against 40.

There is one watch on this site that settles the question of whether a non-AMOLED panel is doing real work, because it has no solar lens at all. The COROS VERTIX 2S runs an always-on memory LCD and a rechargeable cell with no solar assistance, and COROS rates it at 36 days of daily use, 118 hours of standard full GPS, 73 hours with all systems on and 43 hours dual-frequency. Set that beside the fenix 8 AMOLED 47mm at 16 days and 47 GPS hours. These are different watches with different cells, so it is not a controlled comparison, but a watch with no solar whatsoever beating a solar-era AMOLED by more than double on both rows is not an accident of cell size. The panel is most of it. Every one of these figures, ranked, is on longest battery life GPS watches.

Why solar and MIP show up together

You will notice that almost every solar watch in this category also has a MIP screen, and that is not a coincidence or a cost-cutting decision. A solar lens supplies a trickle. Whether that trickle matters depends entirely on how much the watch is spending.

Garmin's numbers make the point without any interpretation: on the low-draw Instinct 3 Solar the lens can outrun the spend, which is why Garmin writes "unlimited" in the smartwatch row. On the higher-draw fenix 8 Solar 51mm the same lens buys 30 days to 48, a real gain but a finite one. Put the same lens in front of an always-on AMOLED and there is far less chance of it keeping up, which is why for two generations nobody shipped that combination.

The practical consequence for a buyer: the screen decision and the charger decision are the same decision. You cannot buy the color screen and the four-week battery separately, at least not yet. The solar side of that trade is covered on best solar GPS watches.

Where the rule is starting to break

Two things happened in the last year that a buyer should know about before treating "AMOLED means days, MIP means weeks" as permanent.

Garmin put solar on an AMOLED fenix. The fenix 9 Pro, announced in August 2026, has "AMOLED displays [that] offer up to 3,000 nits of brightness" and, on the solar models, a rating of up to 57 days under the same 50,000-lux assumption as every other Garmin solar figure, against 31 days in smartwatch mode on the largest AMOLED size without it. That is the first AMOLED fenix quoted past 50 days, and it narrows a gap that used to be structural. It is also weeks old, with no ownership record behind it, and the press release we cite does not state a MIL-STD-810 line, so we do not claim one.

Brightness went the other way. The fenix 8 Pro MicroLED uses "over 400,000 individual LEDs delivering up to 4,500 nits, making it the brightest smartwatch ever," and Garmin rates it at up to 10 days of battery life in smartwatch mode, against up to 27 days for the 51mm AMOLED version of the same watch. Brightness is bought with days at a very steep exchange rate, and that is the clearest evidence on this page that the panel, not the processor or the case, sets the battery figure.

The picks

Our picks for this

Three MIP-family watches and the AMOLED worth buying

The watch where a low-draw panel plus solar reaches 'unlimited', the mapping watch that keeps the always-on screen, the AMOLED to buy if you have decided you want one, and the proof that a memory LCD does the work without any solar at all.

  • Illustrative stock photo: a fitness smartwatch on a wrist, close upStock photo

    Best for a decade of GPS without a charger

    Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)

    Solar GPS8.7/10

    40 days without sun, unlimited with it, 60 GPS hours or 260 with solar. The clearest case for the panel.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)

  • Illustrative stock photo: a fitness smartwatch on a wrist, close upStock photo

    Best all-around rugged GPS watch with maps

    Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)

    Solar GPS8.7/10

    The always-on solar fenix: 30 days, 48 with solar, sapphire, titanium, maps and a 40 m dive rating.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)

  • Illustrative stock photo: a fitness smartwatch on a wrist, close upStock photo

    Best fenix for a color screen

    Garmin fenix 8 AMOLED (47mm)

    Rechargeable GPS7.7/10

    If you want the color screen, this is the fenix that has it with the full case: 16 days gesture, 7 always-on.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 AMOLED (47mm)

  • Illustrative stock photo: a fitness smartwatch on a wrist, close upStock photo

    Best rechargeable GPS battery without solar

    COROS VERTIX 2S

    Rechargeable GPS8.1/10

    36 days and 118 standard-GPS hours on an always-on memory LCD with no solar lens anywhere on the watch.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to COROS VERTIX 2S

Which screen to buy

Two questions decide it, and neither is about how the screen looks in a shop.

  1. Do you want to read the watch without touching it? If yes, and you will not turn always-on off, then compare the MIP figure against the AMOLED's always-on figure, not its gesture figure. On every pair above, that comparison is not close.
  2. Do you need to read it in the dark more often than in the sun? Night shift work, a tent after dark, a truck cab before dawn: the AMOLED is genuinely better there, and a MIP screen needs its backlight pressed. Outdoors in daylight the positions reverse, because a MIP panel is lit by the sun that washes out an AMOLED. For anyone under light discipline, a screen that does not glow when you turn your wrist is a feature, which is why the AMOLED models stay off our hunting Garmin rankings.

For a buyer whose whole reason for being here is not buying the watch twice, the answer follows from the cycle count rather than from taste: fewer charges, fewer cycles, a cell that is still healthy in year eight. That is why the top of almost every ranking on this site is a MIP-family watch, and why the AMOLED models appear as the honest alternative rather than the pick. The argument the whole site is built on is on buy-it-for-life watches.

How we scored this

Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Does an AMOLED watch really use more battery than MIP?

Yes, on every matched pair the makers publish. Garmin rates the 50mm Instinct 3 Solar at 40 days in smartwatch mode without any sun and the same case with an AMOLED at 24 days on gesture or 9 days always-on. On the 47mm fenix 8 it is 21 days against 16 gesture or 7 always-on. The gap narrows during GPS activities, where the satellite chip is the dominant draw.

What does MIP stand for on a watch display?

Memory-in-pixel, sometimes called a transflective or memory LCD. Each pixel holds its own state and only draws power when it changes, and the screen reflects ambient light instead of being lit from behind. Makers usually label it on the spec sheet as an always-on display: COROS writes "always-on memory LCD", Suunto writes "matrix (MIP)", Garmin writes "always-on" or "solar charging" display.

Is a MIP screen readable in the dark?

Not without its backlight, because it has no light of its own. That is the trade: it is the more readable screen in daylight and the less readable one in a dark tent. If most of your watch-reading happens after sunset, the AMOLED is the better screen for you and the battery table is the price.

Can you get AMOLED and a month of battery life?

It is starting to be possible. Garmin's fenix 9 Pro, announced in August 2026, quotes up to 31 days in smartwatch mode on the largest AMOLED size and up to 57 days on the solar models under its 50,000-lux assumption. That is new; on the fenix 8 and Instinct 3 generation the answer is still no.

Should I turn always-on display off to save battery?

If you own an AMOLED and battery is the complaint, it is the single biggest lever you have. Garmin's own tables put the 50mm Instinct 3 AMOLED at 24 days on gesture and 9 with always-on, and the 47mm fenix 8 AMOLED at 16 days against 7. Turning it off gives you back most of the difference between the two screens.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
  2. Garmin — Instinct 3 AMOLED Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
  3. Garmin newsroom — Instinct 3 Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
  4. Garmin — fenix 8 Series Owner's Manual, Battery Information (checked 2026-09-20)
  5. Garmin newsroom — fenix 8 Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
  6. Garmin newsroom — fenix 7 Pro Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
  7. Garmin newsroom — fenix 8 Pro press release (checked 2026-09-20)
  8. Garmin newsroom — fenix 9 and fenix 9 Pro press release (checked 2026-09-20)
  9. Suunto — Vertical 2 Titanium Black product page and tech specs (checked 2026-09-20)
  10. Suunto — Vertical Titanium Solar Black product page and tech specs (checked 2026-09-20)
  11. COROS — VERTIX 2S / APEX / NOMAD specification tables (checked 2026-09-20)

We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.

More in Built to Last