Garmin / The rankings
The best Garmin watch for hunting: six that last the season, not the weekend
Sunrise and sunset on the wrist, a walk-out track, a screen that stays dark in the stand, and a battery that does not need the truck's USB port. Ranked from Garmin's own manuals.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-sheet researched, not worn by us
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm) Unlimited smartwatch battery with sun, 60 to 260 GPS hours, a dark MIP screen, big buttons, a red flashlight for the walk in. No maps, and most stand hunters never miss them. | Best Garmin for hunting overallSolar GPS | 8.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire) Preloaded topo maps under sapphire, 149 GPS hours with solar, a 40 m dive rating for the creek crossing. | Best for public-land and backcountry huntsSolar GPS | 8.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Garmin Instinct 3 Solar – Tactical Edition (50mm) The same Instinct 3 Solar with stealth mode, NVG mode and a green flashlight instead of red. | Best for light disciplineSolar GPS | 8.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Garmin Enduro 3 320 GPS hours with solar, maps and a 63 g case. Garmin does not state a water rating. | Best for multi-day backcountrySolar GPS | 8.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Garmin fenix 7 Pro Solar (47mm) Preloaded maps, solar, flashlight and 37 days smartwatch on a previous-generation fenix that is still sold. | Best value with mapsSolar GPS | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Garmin Instinct 2 Solar (45mm) Garmin's table matches the Instinct 3 50mm on smartwatch days and GPS hours; no flashlight. | Best budget solar GarminSolar GPS | 7.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from the makers' manuals, battery tables and spec pages, not field tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What a hunt needs from a watch
Legal shooting light for your position, which is a sunrise and sunset table. A track of the walk in so the walk out in the dark is boring. Buttons that work through gloves. A screen that does not glow in the stand. A barometer for the front that moves deer. And a battery that lasts the whole season of pre-dawn sits and long Saturdays without the charger, because the charger is at home. We scored every Garmin on the rubric with those in mind, from Garmin's own manuals and press releases. The multi-brand version is the hunting watch rankings.
Sunrise, sunset and the screen problem
The Instinct 3 manual lists a Sunrise & Sunset glance with civil twilight and a Moon Phase glance based on GPS position; Garmin's glance system is shared across its current outdoor lines. The differences are the screen. The Instinct 3 Solar, fenix 8 Solar, Enduro 3 and fenix 7 Pro use memory-in-pixel displays: readable in daylight without a backlight, dark until you tap for one. The AMOLED Instinct 3 and fenix 8 models light up on a wrist turn and are bright enough to be seen from a treestand across a clearing. That is why no AMOLED Garmin is on this list. If you want one anyway, gesture mode can be disabled and the always-on setting avoided; Garmin's own tables show what that costs in days. The sunrise and moon phase guide covers what each watch actually displays.
Battery per sit and per season
A morning sit with GPS running is four hours; a full-day all-systems track is twelve. Garmin's tables:
| Watch | Smartwatch mode | GPS-only | Max-battery GPS | Flashlight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instinct 3 Solar 50mm | 40 d; unlimited solar | 60 h (260 solar) | 150 h (unlimited solar) | White, red, strobe |
| fenix 8 Solar 51mm | 30 d; 48 solar | 95 h (149 solar) | 186 h (653 solar) | White, red, strobe |
| Instinct 3 Solar Tactical 50mm | Unlimited with solar (Garmin) | 60 h (260 solar), Instinct 3 Solar table | 150 h (unlimited solar) | White, green, strobe |
| Enduro 3 | 90 d | 120 h multi-band | 320 h with solar | White, red, strobe |
| fenix 7 Pro Solar | 37 d; 139 d expedition | Not in the release | Not in the release | White, red, strobe |
| Instinct 2 Solar 45mm | 40 d; unlimited solar | 60 h (145 solar) | 150 h (unlimited solar) | None |
Every watch here covers a week of sits without a charger. The question is the season: three months of mornings where the watch comes off at night and goes back on at 4:30 a.m. That is where solar earns its place, because a watch that gets three hours of November sun on the outside of a jacket sleeve stays topped up, and one that does not still has forty days of margin.
When maps earn the fenix price
On a lease you know, a map on the wrist is a phone job. On public land with boundaries to respect, on a backcountry elk hunt, or on a new piece of ground, the fenix 8 Solar's preloaded topo maps and the Enduro 3's battery to run them all day are the reason to spend the money. The Instinct's breadcrumb trail still gets you back to the truck; it does not tell you whether the ridge you are glassing is yours to walk. Our GPS hunting watch rankings weight maps more heavily than this page does.
Gloves, buttons and the flashlight
Every watch here has five physical buttons. The fenix 8 adds leakproof metal buttons and touch you can lock; the Instinct has no touchscreen to lock, which is a feature in a glove. The flashlight matters more than it sounds: a red LED on the wrist for the last hundred yards to the stand, hands free, is the kind of thing you do not know you want until you have it. The Instinct 2 Solar 45mm is the one watch on this list without it.
The mistake buyers make
Buying the AMOLED because it was on sale. In a stand, the wrist-turn wake is a beacon and the always-on setting is a battery tax; Garmin's Instinct 3 AMOLED table shows 24 days in gesture mode against the solar model's unlimited. Instinct 3 Solar vs AMOLED makes the case in detail.
The decade pick
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest Garmin for hunting overall
Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
Unlimited smartwatch battery with sun, 60 to 260 GPS hours, a dark MIP screen, big buttons, a red flashlight for the walk in. No maps, and most stand hunters never miss them.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 8
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Garmin's own table shows the 50mm solar model doubling the 45mm in GPS-with-solar hours (260 vs 130).
- Physical buttons, a monochrome display readable in full sun, and a flashlight with a red mode.
- 10 ATM rating and a MIL-STD 810 claim on a watch that costs less than half a fenix.
Where it falls short
- No maps: it navigates breadcrumb trails and waypoints, not topo maps.
- The solar figures assume three hours a day at 50,000 lux, which is midday sun, not a sleeve.
- Garmin does not name the lens material; treat it as strengthened glass, not sapphire.
Skip this if…
…you need on-wrist topo maps, or you wear long sleeves and work indoors, where the solar math never happens.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
Rank 2
Stock photoBest for public-land and backcountry hunts
Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Preloaded topo maps under sapphire, 149 GPS hours with solar, a 40 m dive rating for the creek crossing.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 30 days typical use; up to 48 days with solar |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 95 hours GPS-only; up to 149 hours with solar |
| Battery (max GPS) | Up to 186 hours max-battery GPS; up to 653 hours with solar |
| Battery (solar) | Expedition GPS mode up to 50 days; up to 118 days with solar |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens (sapphire versions) |
| Bezel & case | Titanium bezel (sapphire versions); leakproof metal buttons; sensor guard |
| Water rating | 40-meter dive-rated case |
| MIL-STD-810 | Tested to U.S. military standards for thermal, shock and water resistance |
| Maps & GPS | TopoActive maps preloaded on sapphire versions |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable intensities, red light and strobe |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 10
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 10
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Sapphire, titanium and leakproof metal buttons on a case Garmin dive-rates to 40 m.
- 653 hours of max-battery GPS with solar is the longest figure in Garmin's fenix 8 table.
- Preloaded topo maps, a speaker and mic, and a flashlight.
Where it falls short
- A MIP display in a world of AMOLEDs; that is also why the battery lasts.
- The fenix 9 Pro (August 2026) now sits above it in the line, with a titanium case and solar on select models.
- Big: 51mm is a lot of watch under a sleeve.
Skip this if…
…you have never used the maps on a watch; the Instinct 3 Solar gives you the battery for half the money.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest for light discipline
Garmin Instinct 3 Solar – Tactical Edition (50mm)
The same Instinct 3 Solar with stealth mode, NVG mode and a green flashlight instead of red.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Solar models: unlimited battery life (all-day wear, 3 hr/day at 50,000 lux) |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 60 hours GPS-only; up to 260 hours with solar (50mm Instinct 3 Solar table) |
| Bezel & case | Bolted construction with a metal-reinforced bezel; fiber-reinforced polymer case |
| Water rating | Water-rated up to 100 meters |
| MIL-STD-810 | Built to MIL-STD 810 for thermal and shock resistance |
| Sensors | Stealth Mode, Kill Switch, Night Vision Goggle mode, Jumpmaster, dual-position format, multi-band GPS with SatIQ |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable intensities, a green light and strobe mode |
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 8
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 8
- Mission fit (5%)
- 10
What the spec sheet supports
- Stealth mode stops wireless and location recording; the kill switch wipes user memory, per Garmin.
- NVG mode and a green (not red) flashlight are the light-discipline features a standard Instinct lacks.
- Same solar battery table as the Instinct 3 Solar 50mm.
Where it falls short
- Applied Ballistics needs a paid unlock.
- Everything durable about it is already in the standard Instinct 3 Solar; you are paying for software.
Skip this if…
…you will never use stealth mode, NVG mode or jumpmaster; the standard Instinct 3 Solar is the same hardware for less.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 3 Solar – Tactical Edition (50mm)
Rank 4
Stock photoBest for multi-day backcountry
Garmin Enduro 3
320 GPS hours with solar, maps and a 63 g case. Garmin does not state a water rating.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 90 days in smartwatch mode |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 320 hours in GPS mode with solar charging; up to 120 hours with multi-band SatIQ |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens |
| Bezel & case | 51mm titanium bezel; UltraFit nylon band |
| Maps & GPS | Preloaded TopoActive maps |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable brightness, red light and strobe |
| Weight | 63 grams |
How the 8.5 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 9
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- 320 GPS hours with solar is the largest GPS figure Garmin publishes for any watch we list.
- Lighter than a 51mm fenix 8 thanks to the nylon strap and titanium bezel.
- Sapphire and preloaded maps.
Where it falls short
- Garmin's Enduro 3 release does not state a water rating or MIL-STD line, so we do not claim them here.
- The nylon strap is the point of the weight; a silicone strap adds it back.
Skip this if…
…you swim or dive with your watch and need a stated depth rating; the fenix 8 gives you one.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Enduro 3
Rank 5
Stock photoBest value with maps
Garmin fenix 7 Pro Solar (47mm)
Preloaded maps, solar, flashlight and 37 days smartwatch on a previous-generation fenix that is still sold.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 37 days in smartwatch mode; up to 139 days in expedition mode |
| Bezel & case | Fiber-reinforced polymer case with a steel bezel and rear cover |
| MIL-STD-810 | Tested to U.S. military standards for thermal, shock and water resistance |
| Display | Next-generation MIP display |
| Maps & GPS | Preloaded TopoActive maps |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable intensities, red safety light and strobe |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 8
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 6
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 8
- Mission fit (5%)
- 7
What the spec sheet supports
- Solar, flashlight and maps on every size, a generation before the fenix 8 made AMOLED the default.
- A steel bezel is heavier than titanium but takes a knock just as well.
Where it falls short
- Standard editions use a strengthened lens; only the Sapphire Edition gets sapphire, and Garmin's release does not name the standard lens.
- Two generations behind the current fenix 9 for firmware priority.
Skip this if…
…you want the longest firmware runway; buy the newest fenix you can afford instead.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 7 Pro Solar (47mm)
Rank 6
Stock photoBest budget solar Garmin
Garmin Instinct 2 Solar (45mm)
Garmin's table matches the Instinct 3 50mm on smartwatch days and GPS hours; no flashlight.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 40 days; unlimited with solar (all-day wear, 3 hr/day at 50,000 lux) |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 60 hours; 145 hours with solar |
| Battery (max GPS) | Up to 150 hours; unlimited with solar |
| Battery (solar) | Expedition GPS mode up to 60 days; unlimited with solar |
| Water rating | Water-rated up to 10 ATM (Instinct 2 family, per the 2X Solar release) |
| MIL-STD-810 | Built to U.S. military standards (MIL-STD-810) for thermal shock, water resistance and shock (Instinct 2 family, per the 2X Solar release) |
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 7
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 6
- Field usability (15%)
- 8
- Value per decade (10%)
- 9
- Mission fit (5%)
- 7
What the spec sheet supports
- Garmin's Instinct 2 table matches the Instinct 3 50mm for smartwatch days (40) and GPS hours (60).
- Sold alongside the Instinct 3, so the price gap is real.
Where it falls short
- No flashlight on the 45mm Instinct 2; the Instinct 3 added one to every size.
- An older platform means an earlier end to firmware support.
Skip this if…
…you want the longest support runway; the Instinct 3 will be updated for years after this one stops.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 2 Solar (45mm)
How we scored this
Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Does the Garmin Instinct show sunrise and sunset?
Yes. The Instinct 3 owner's manual lists a Sunrise & Sunset glance (with civil twilight) and a Moon Phase glance with moonrise and moonset based on GPS position.
Which Garmin has the best battery for hunting?
In GPS hours, the Enduro 3 at 320 with solar. In everyday mode, the Instinct 3 Solar and Instinct 2 Solar, both rated unlimited with solar by Garmin.
Is the Garmin fenix worth it for hunting?
Only if you need topo maps on the wrist: public-land boundaries, backcountry hunts, new ground. For a stand on familiar land, the Instinct 3 Solar does the job for half the price.
Keep reading
Related on Bezel & Bearing
- Best hunting watchesThe multi-brand ranking.
- Best GPS watch for huntingMaps weighted heavier.
- Garmin Instinct 3 Solar reviewThe winner in full.
- Garmin Enduro 3 reviewThe backcountry battery.
- Best G-Shock for huntingThe no-charger alternative.
- Sunrise, sunset and moon phase watchesLegal light on the wrist.
- How long Garmin watches lastThe decade question.
Receipts
Sources
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Glances (sunrise/sunset, moon phase, ABC) (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — Instinct 3 Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — Instinct 3 Tactical Edition press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — fenix 8 Series Owner's Manual, Battery Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — fenix 8 Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — Enduro 3 press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — fenix 7 Pro Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 2 Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 AMOLED Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.