Built to Last / The rankings
The best solar watches under $500: seven that never meet a charger, ranked by the dark
The number that matters on a solar watch is not how bright the panel is. It is how long the maker says it runs with no light at all. Every figure here is Casio's, Citizen's, Bertucci's or Timex's own.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-sheet researched, not worn by us
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400 Tough Solar with about 8 months of dark running, radio-set time, compass, barometer, altimeter, thermometer, 200 m, mud-resistant, cold-rated. | Best solar watch under $500Solar, no charger | 8.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Bertucci A-2T Solar Classic (40mm titanium) $295 list. Titanium unibody, sapphire, 200 m, a stated six-month reserve, 59.5 g. The only sapphire-and-titanium solar watch in the tier. | Best solar analogSolar, no charger | 8.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Casio Pro Trek PRW-61 62 g and 14.7 mm with Tough Solar, five radio signals, triple sensor and a double LED. Casio states about 6 months dark. | Best light sensor watchSolar, no charger | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L Eco-Drive with an ISO dive rating and a five-year warranty, the longest on the site. | Best solar diverSolar, no charger | 7.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() G-Shock GW-M5610U About ten months with no light at all, plus Multi-Band 6 radio time, in the 42.8 mm square case. | Longest dark reserveSolar, no charger | 8.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Casio Pro Trek PRG-340 Up to 27 months in power save with no light, the longest stated Casio figure here, at 54 g. No radio time. | Best power-save figureSolar, no charger | 8.0 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() Timex Expedition North Field Post Solar (41mm) $209 list. Sapphire, 100 m, steel, and a solar movement Timex rates at four months from a full charge. | Best under $250Solar, no charger | 7.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from the makers' manuals, battery tables and spec pages, not field tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Three different things called solar
"Solar" on a watch box can mean three very different ownership experiences, and only two of them belong on this page.
- A solar cell that never meets a charger. Casio Tough Solar, Citizen Eco-Drive, the Epson movement in the Bertucci, the Timex solar movement. Light tops up a rechargeable cell that is a watchmaker-replaceable part. You do nothing, forever.
- A solar lens on a rechargeable GPS watch. Garmin, Suunto. The lens stretches the interval between cable charges from days to weeks. Genuinely useful, not the same thing.
- A token panel and a marketing word. Not on this site.
Everything ranked here is the first kind. The full explanation is in how long solar watches last, and the Garmin version is Garmin solar explained.
The number that matters is the dark figure
Every maker will tell you the watch runs on light. That is not a specification, it is a description. The specification is how long the watch keeps running with no light — a drawer, a winter of long sleeves, a month in a pack. That figure is what tells you how much reserve the cell actually banks, and it is the column this page sorts on.
Every stated figure, side by side
| Watch | Maker's dark-running figure | Sensors | Water | Lens |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro Trek PRG-340 | Up to 7 months in use; up to 27 months in power save | Triple sensor | 100 m | Mineral |
| G-Shock GW-M5610U | Approx. 10 months, power saving 6 hours a day | None (radio time) | 200 m | Mineral |
| G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400 | Approx. 8 months to Level 4 | Compass, baro, alti, thermo | 200 m | Mineral |
| Bertucci A-2T Solar Classic | 6-month power reserve | None | 200 m | Sapphire |
| Pro Trek PRW-61 | Approx. 6 months | Triple sensor + radio time | 100 m | Mineral |
| Timex Field Post Solar | Up to 4 months from a full charge | None | 100 m | Sapphire |
| Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151 | Not stated by Citizen for this model | None | ISO dive rating | Mineral |
Two things jump out. The PRG-340's 27-month power-save figure is the longest stated number in this whole tier, and it is on the cheapest triple-sensor watch here. And Citizen does not publish a dark-running figure for the BN0151, which is why it sits fourth despite having the longest warranty on the site — we do not fill in a number a maker declines to state.
| Evidence | G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400 | Bertucci A-2T Solar Classic (40mm titanium) | Casio Pro Trek PRW-61 | G-Shock GW-M5610U |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power class | Solar, no charger | Solar, no charger | Solar, no charger | Solar, no charger |
| Battery (cell) | Approximately 8 months from full charge to Level 4 with no light (Casio's stated usage conditions) | — | Approximately 6 months with no light (Casio's stated usage conditions) | Approximately 10 months with no light (Casio's stated conditions, power saving 6 hours/day) |
| Sensors | Digital compass, barometer, altimeter, thermometer; sunrise/sunset; Multi-Band 6 time calibration (WWVB, DCF77, MSF, JJY, BPC) | — | Direction, pressure/altitude and temperature sensors; radio time calibration (JJY, WWVB, MSF, DCF77, BPC); double LED light | Multi-Band 6 radio time calibration; world time; 5 alarms |
| Glass | Mineral crystal | Sapphire | — | Mineral (square case family) |
| Water rating | 200 meters | 200 meters | 100 m | 200 meters; shock resistant (DW-5600 square case family) |
| Weight | 93 g | 59.5 g | 62 g | — |
| Score | 8.7/10 | 8.4/10 | 8.1/10 | 8.2/10 |
Why there is no Garmin on this page
Because of the definition above, not because of the price. A solar Instinct 3 sits inside this budget and it is an outstanding watch — it is our pick on half the pages of this site. But its solar lens feeds a rechargeable lithium cell that still ages by charge cycle, and it still ships with a cable. On a page about watches that never meet a charger, that is a different product. The solar-GPS version of this list is best solar GPS watches.
A solar cell still ages
Sensors, sapphire and water
Under $500 you can have sensors or sapphire, not both. The four Casios bring a compass, barometer, altimeter and thermometer behind mineral glass; the Bertucci and the Timex bring sapphire with no sensors at all. The only sapphire Casio we rank is the Mudmaster GWG-2000 and it is well over this budget. On water, the two G-Shocks and the Bertucci are 200 m, the Citizen carries an ISO dive rating, and the Pro Treks are 100 m without mud seals.
The decade pick
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest solar watch under $500
G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400
Tough Solar with about 8 months of dark running, radio-set time, compass, barometer, altimeter, thermometer, 200 m, mud-resistant, cold-rated.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | Approximately 8 months from full charge to Level 4 with no light (Casio's stated usage conditions) |
| Power | Solar panel and one rechargeable battery (Tough Solar) |
| Glass | Mineral crystal |
| Water rating | 200 meters |
| Sensors | Digital compass, barometer, altimeter, thermometer; sunrise/sunset; Multi-Band 6 time calibration (WWVB, DCF77, MSF, JJY, BPC) |
| Weight | 93 g |
| Size | 55.2 × 53.5 × 18.2 mm |
| Operating temp | Low-temperature resistance -10°C (14°F) |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 7
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 10
- Field usability (15%)
- 7
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Solar and atomic: it sets itself from a radio signal and never sees a cable.
- A module that has been in production for over a decade; parts, straps and bezels are everywhere.
- Sunrise/sunset on the watch, the one hunting feature the Garmin Instinct does without a phone.
Where it falls short
- Mineral crystal, not sapphire; the Rangeman lives behind a raised bezel for a reason.
- No GPS, no maps, no heart rate. It tells you where north is, not where you are.
- Big and thick at 18.2 mm.
Skip this if…
…you want a track of where you walked; an ABC watch measures the world, it does not map it.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400
Rank 2
Stock photoBest solar analog
Bertucci A-2T Solar Classic (40mm titanium)
$295 list. Titanium unibody, sapphire, 200 m, a stated six-month reserve, 59.5 g. The only sapphire-and-titanium solar watch in the tier.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (solar) | 6-month power reserve |
| Power | Solar Epson VS movement |
| Glass | Sapphire |
| Bezel & case | Blasted titanium; 40 mm × 11 mm, 49.5 mm lug to lug |
| Water rating | 200 meters |
| Weight | 59.5 g |
| Size | U.S. Patented Unibody titanium case, 22 mm heavy-duty nylon band |
| Warranty | 3 years |
How the 8.4 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 9
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 8
- Value per decade (10%)
- 9
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Titanium plus sapphire plus 200 m is the durability set you normally pay Marathon TSAR money for.
- Six months of reserve and a solar cell: the longest-running field watch here with no charger and no cell to buy.
- 59.5 grams on a nylon strap, which is lighter than every G-Shock on the site.
Where it falls short
- A unibody case means the watch goes back to Bertucci rather than to any bench for a movement job.
- Bertucci's own product page publishes almost no specifications; the sheet above comes from an authorized dealer.
- No backlight and no date on the Classic dial.
Skip this if…
…you want a watch any local watchmaker can open; the unibody case is the trade for the 200 m rating.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Bertucci A-2T Solar Classic (40mm titanium)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest light sensor watch
Casio Pro Trek PRW-61
62 g and 14.7 mm with Tough Solar, five radio signals, triple sensor and a double LED. Casio states about 6 months dark.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | Approximately 6 months with no light (Casio's stated usage conditions) |
| Power | Solar panel and one rechargeable battery |
| Bezel & case | Biomass plastics case |
| Water rating | 100 m |
| Sensors | Direction, pressure/altitude and temperature sensors; radio time calibration (JJY, WWVB, MSF, DCF77, BPC); double LED light |
| Weight | 62 g |
| Size | 51.0 × 47.4 × 14.7 mm |
| Operating temp | Low-temperature resistance to -10°C (14°F) |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 6
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 9
- Field usability (15%)
- 8
- Value per decade (10%)
- 9
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Solar, atomic and triple sensor at 62 g and 14.7 mm.
- Cleaner dial and a proper altimeter graph for hikers.
Where it falls short
- 100 m and no mud-resistant buttons; it is a hiking watch, not a Mudman.
- Mineral glass.
Skip this if…
…your watch gets buried in mud or dunked regularly; the G-Shock Mudman is the sealed version of this idea.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Casio Pro Trek PRW-61
Rank 4
Stock photoBest solar diver
Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L
Eco-Drive with an ISO dive rating and a five-year warranty, the longest on the site.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Power | E168 Eco-Drive: powered by any light source, no battery replacement |
| Glass | Anti-reflective mineral crystal |
| Bezel & case | Stainless steel, 44 mm; polyurethane strap |
| Water rating | 200M/20Bar, ISO-certified dive watch |
| Warranty | 5-year limited warranty |
How the 7.9 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 7
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 9
- Field usability (15%)
- 6
- Value per decade (10%)
- 9
- Mission fit (5%)
- 6
What the spec sheet supports
- A five-year warranty is the longest on the site.
- Solar analog with an ISO dive rating for the price of a Rangeman.
Where it falls short
- Mineral crystal.
- Citizen's page does not state a dark-running power reserve for this model.
Skip this if…
…you want a sapphire diver; Citizen's page names mineral for this one.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L
Rank 5
Stock photoLongest dark reserve
G-Shock GW-M5610U
About ten months with no light at all, plus Multi-Band 6 radio time, in the 42.8 mm square case.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | Approximately 10 months with no light (Casio's stated conditions, power saving 6 hours/day) |
| Power | Solar panel and one rechargeable battery |
| Glass | Mineral (square case family) |
| Water rating | 200 meters; shock resistant (DW-5600 square case family) |
| Sensors | Multi-Band 6 radio time calibration; world time; 5 alarms |
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 6
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 10
- Field usability (15%)
- 6
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 6
What the spec sheet supports
- Ten months of stated dark running, the longest solar figure Casio publishes among the watches here.
- Atomic time and solar in the smallest G-Shock case.
Where it falls short
- Same flat mineral crystal as the DW-5600.
- No sensors.
Skip this if…
…you need a compass or altimeter on the watch; step up to the Rangeman.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to G-Shock GW-M5610U
Rank 6
Stock photoBest power-save figure
Casio Pro Trek PRG-340
Up to 27 months in power save with no light, the longest stated Casio figure here, at 54 g. No radio time.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | Up to 7 months while used, up to 27 months in power save, with no light |
| Power | Tough Solar |
| Bezel & case | Biomass plastics |
| Water rating | 100 meters |
| Sensors | Triple Sensor Version 3: pressure (altimeter/barometer), compass, thermometer |
| Weight | 54 g (urethane band) |
| Size | 54.7 × 51.7 × 15.1 mm |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 6
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 9
- Field usability (15%)
- 7
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 7
What the spec sheet supports
- Twenty-seven months in power-save mode is the longest stated figure of any Casio here.
- Lightest triple-sensor watch on the site at 54 g.
Where it falls short
- No Multi-Band 6; you set the time yourself.
- 100 m, mineral glass, no mud resistance.
Skip this if…
…you want the time to set itself; the PRW-61 adds radio calibration for the difference.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Casio Pro Trek PRG-340
Rank 7
Stock photoBest under $250
Timex Expedition North Field Post Solar (41mm)
$209 list. Sapphire, 100 m, steel, and a solar movement Timex rates at four months from a full charge.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (solar) | Lasts up to 4 months from a full charge |
| Power | Quartz analog movement, solar battery |
| Glass | Sapphire crystal |
| Bezel & case | Stainless steel, brushed / beadblast finish; screw-down case back and crown |
| Water rating | Water resistant to 100 meters |
| Weight | 80.09 g |
| Size | 41 mm diameter, 12 mm case height, 20 mm band |
| Warranty | One-year limited manufacturer's warranty |
How the 7.8 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 8
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 6
- Field usability (15%)
- 7
- Value per decade (10%)
- 9
- Mission fit (5%)
- 7
What the spec sheet supports
- Sapphire on a watch at this price is rare, and it is the spec that decides how the watch looks in year eight.
- Solar with a four-month reserve: no charger, no battery appointment.
- 100 m and a screw-down crown, which the Marathon GPQ does not have.
Where it falls short
- A one-year warranty against Hamilton's two and Bertucci's three.
- Timex does not publish a service path for the solar cell the way Casio and Citizen do.
- No lume-heavy dial or tritium; it is painted luminous, so it fades over a night.
Skip this if…
…you want a movement any watchmaker can open and service for decades; a Hamilton H-10 or a Seiko 4R36 is the serviceable choice.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Timex Expedition North Field Post Solar (41mm)
How to choose a solar watch
1. Read the dark figure, not the panel. Every maker on this page publishes one except Citizen for this model. It is the only number that tells you what the cell banks.
2. Decide sensors or sapphire. Under $500 that is a genuine either/or. Sensors mean a Casio and mineral glass; sapphire means the Bertucci or the Timex and no sensors.
3. Do you want the watch to set itself? Multi-Band 6 radio time is on the Rangeman, the PRW-61 and the GW-M5610U and not on the PRG-340, the Bertucci or the Timex. It is the difference between adjusting for daylight saving and never touching the watch.
4. Do not store it in a drawer. The one way to kill a solar watch is to leave it in the dark for years at a time. A windowsill is enough. All of these are designed to be worn.
How we scored this
Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best solar watch under $500?
The G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400: Tough Solar with about eight months of stated running in the dark, Multi-Band 6 radio time setting, a compass, barometer, altimeter and thermometer, sunrise and sunset data, 200 m of water resistance and mud-resistant buttons.
Which solar watch runs longest without light?
Of the watches we rank in this tier, the Casio Pro Trek PRG-340: Casio states up to 7 months in use and up to 27 months in power save with no light. The G-Shock GW-M5610U states about 10 months with power saving for 6 hours a day.
Is there a solar watch with a sapphire crystal under $500?
Yes, two. The Bertucci A-2T Solar Classic ($295 list) pairs sapphire with a titanium unibody case, 200 m and a six-month reserve, and the Timex Expedition North Field Post Solar ($209 list) has sapphire, 100 m and a four-month reserve. Neither has sensors.
Do solar watches need battery replacement?
Eventually, yes. The rechargeable cell inside a Tough Solar or Eco-Drive watch loses capacity over many years and is replaced by a watchmaker as a standard part — typically a decade or more out, not on a schedule. You never charge it and you never buy a coin cell.
Is a solar Garmin a solar watch?
It is a different kind. A solar Garmin uses a lens to stretch the interval between cable charges on a rechargeable lithium cell, which is why it ships with a charger. The watches on this page have no cable at all. See best solar GPS watches for the Garmin side.
Keep reading
Related on Bezel & Bearing
Receipts
Sources
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3410 (GW-9400 Rangeman), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- Pilot Mall — Casio G-Shock Rangeman GW9400-1 listing (case size, weight, water rating) (checked 2026-09-20)
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 5673 (Pro Trek PRW-61), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- New Atlas — Casio Pro Trek PRW-61 announcement (size, weight, water rating, battery) (checked 2026-09-20)
- G-Central — Pro Trek PRG-340 announcement (size, weight, water rating, battery) (checked 2026-09-20)
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3495 (GW-M5610U), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- Long Island Watch (authorized dealer) — Bertucci A-2T Solar Classic #12800, full specifications (checked 2026-09-26)
- Timex — Expedition Field Post Solar 41mm, specifications (checked 2026-09-26)
- Citizen — Promaster Dive BN0151-09L product page (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.