Hunting / The rankings
The best GPS watch for hunting: six ranked for maps, timber and a week without the truck
A GPS watch on a hunt has to hold a fix under trees, show the boundary you must not cross, and keep running for days of dawn-to-dark tracking. Ranked from Garmin's, COROS's and Casio's own figures.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-sheet researched, not worn by us
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire) Preloaded topo maps for boundaries, multi-band with SatIQ for timber, 149 GPS hours with solar, sapphire, a dive rating for the creek. | Best GPS watch for hunting overallSolar GPS | 8.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm) A breadcrumb track and TracBack, sunrise/sunset and moon glances, 260 solar GPS hours, a red flashlight, half the fenix price. | Best without mapsSolar GPS | 8.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Garmin Enduro 3 320 GPS hours with solar and maps at 63 g. | Best for a backcountry weekSolar GPS | 8.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Garmin fenix 9 Pro (51mm) 64 GB of maps, titanium case, inReach on every size, solar on select models; announced August 2026. | Best new mapping watchSolar GPS | 8.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() COROS NOMAD Maps with trail and street names, 50 all-systems hours, 61 g; mineral glass and 5 ATM. | Best light mapping watchRechargeable GPS | 6.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() G-Shock Rangeman GPR-H1000 Multi-band GNSS in a 200 m mud-resistant case; 14 to 19 GPS hours per charge. | The G-Shock with GPSRechargeable GPS | 6.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from the makers' manuals, battery tables and spec pages, not field tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What GPS adds to a hunt
Three things an ABC watch cannot do: a recorded track so the walk out in the dark follows the walk in; a marked waypoint at the truck, the stand and the downed animal; and, on the mapping models, a line on the wrist that shows whether the ridge you are glassing is yours to walk. This ranking weights those three heavily, using each maker's own battery table and map documentation, on the site's rubric. The wider hunting field, including the no-GPS Casios, is on best hunting watches.
Maps and boundaries
Garmin preloads TopoActive maps on the fenix 8 sapphire editions, the Enduro 3 and the fenix 9 Pro; COROS offers free downloadable landscape and topo layers, and the NOMAD's landscape layer includes trail and street names per COROS. The Instinct 3 and the GPR-H1000 show your track and points, not a base map. For property lines and unit boundaries, a base map on the wrist is the feature; for the walk out, the track is enough. Which Garmins carry maps is on Garmin watches with topo maps.
Multi-band under timber
Dense conifer cover and steep drainages are where a single-frequency fix wanders. Multi-band (L1/L5) GNSS holds it: the fenix 8, Instinct 3, Enduro 3, NOMAD and GPR-H1000 all list it, and Garmin's SatIQ switches it on only when the sky demands, which is why Garmin's multi-band battery rows are not much worse than its all-systems rows. Every maker's table shows multi-band costing a third or more of GPS hours when it is on all day; the settings are on GPS accuracy explained.
Days of battery
| Watch | GPS, standard mode | Longest GPS mode | Maps | Water |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| fenix 8 Solar 51mm | 95 h (149 solar) | 186 h (653 solar) | Preloaded topo | 40 m dive |
| Instinct 3 Solar 50mm | 60 h (260 solar) | 150 h (unlimited solar) | Track only | 10 ATM |
| Enduro 3 | 120 h multi-band | 320 h with solar | Preloaded topo | Not stated |
| fenix 9 Pro 51mm | Not in release | Not in release | 64 GB preloaded | 40 m dive |
| COROS NOMAD | 50 h all-systems | 56 h endurance | Free download, named trails | 5 ATM |
| G-Shock GPR-H1000 | 16 h NORMAL | 19 h LONG | Track only | 200 m, mud |
A week of dawn-to-dusk tracking is 60 to 80 GPS hours. The fenix 8 Solar, Enduro 3 and Instinct 3 Solar cover it with margin; the NOMAD covers it in endurance mode; the GPR-H1000 covers a day, which is why it is last on a GPS list and on a G-Shock list would be first.
The mistake buyers make
Leaving multi-band on all season and blaming the watch for the battery. Use SatIQ on a Garmin, or turn multi-band on for the timber walk and off for the stand. The second mistake is buying the NOMAD for the maps and wading with it; 5 ATM is a rain rating.
The decade pick
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest GPS watch for hunting overall
Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Preloaded topo maps for boundaries, multi-band with SatIQ for timber, 149 GPS hours with solar, sapphire, a dive rating for the creek.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 30 days typical use; up to 48 days with solar |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 95 hours GPS-only; up to 149 hours with solar |
| Battery (max GPS) | Up to 186 hours max-battery GPS; up to 653 hours with solar |
| Battery (solar) | Expedition GPS mode up to 50 days; up to 118 days with solar |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens (sapphire versions) |
| Bezel & case | Titanium bezel (sapphire versions); leakproof metal buttons; sensor guard |
| Water rating | 40-meter dive-rated case |
| MIL-STD-810 | Tested to U.S. military standards for thermal, shock and water resistance |
| Maps & GPS | TopoActive maps preloaded on sapphire versions |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable intensities, red light and strobe |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 10
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 10
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Sapphire, titanium and leakproof metal buttons on a case Garmin dive-rates to 40 m.
- 653 hours of max-battery GPS with solar is the longest figure in Garmin's fenix 8 table.
- Preloaded topo maps, a speaker and mic, and a flashlight.
Where it falls short
- A MIP display in a world of AMOLEDs; that is also why the battery lasts.
- The fenix 9 Pro (August 2026) now sits above it in the line, with a titanium case and solar on select models.
- Big: 51mm is a lot of watch under a sleeve.
Skip this if…
…you have never used the maps on a watch; the Instinct 3 Solar gives you the battery for half the money.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 8 Solar (51mm, Sapphire)
Rank 2
Stock photoBest without maps
Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
A breadcrumb track and TracBack, sunrise/sunset and moon glances, 260 solar GPS hours, a red flashlight, half the fenix price.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 8
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Garmin's own table shows the 50mm solar model doubling the 45mm in GPS-with-solar hours (260 vs 130).
- Physical buttons, a monochrome display readable in full sun, and a flashlight with a red mode.
- 10 ATM rating and a MIL-STD 810 claim on a watch that costs less than half a fenix.
Where it falls short
- No maps: it navigates breadcrumb trails and waypoints, not topo maps.
- The solar figures assume three hours a day at 50,000 lux, which is midday sun, not a sleeve.
- Garmin does not name the lens material; treat it as strengthened glass, not sapphire.
Skip this if…
…you need on-wrist topo maps, or you wear long sleeves and work indoors, where the solar math never happens.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Instinct 3 Solar (50mm)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest for a backcountry week
Garmin Enduro 3
320 GPS hours with solar and maps at 63 g.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 90 days in smartwatch mode |
| Battery (GPS) | Up to 320 hours in GPS mode with solar charging; up to 120 hours with multi-band SatIQ |
| Glass | Scratch-resistant sapphire lens |
| Bezel & case | 51mm titanium bezel; UltraFit nylon band |
| Maps & GPS | Preloaded TopoActive maps |
| Flashlight | Built-in LED flashlight with variable brightness, red light and strobe |
| Weight | 63 grams |
How the 8.5 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 9
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 9
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- 320 GPS hours with solar is the largest GPS figure Garmin publishes for any watch we list.
- Lighter than a 51mm fenix 8 thanks to the nylon strap and titanium bezel.
- Sapphire and preloaded maps.
Where it falls short
- Garmin's Enduro 3 release does not state a water rating or MIL-STD line, so we do not claim them here.
- The nylon strap is the point of the weight; a silicone strap adds it back.
Skip this if…
…you swim or dive with your watch and need a stated depth rating; the fenix 8 gives you one.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin Enduro 3
Rank 4
Stock photoBest new mapping watch
Garmin fenix 9 Pro (51mm)
64 GB of maps, titanium case, inReach on every size, solar on select models; announced August 2026.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar GPS. A rechargeable cell topped up by a solar lens. Weeks between charges; the cell still ages like any lithium battery. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | Up to 31 days in smartwatch mode; solar models up to 57 days |
| Glass | Sapphire lens |
| Bezel & case | Titanium watch case (first fenix with a titanium case) |
| Water rating | Dive-rated up to 40 meters |
| Display | AMOLED up to 3,000 nits; 51mm has a 1.5-inch AMOLED |
| Maps & GPS | 64 GB memory; maps 30% faster to pan; perspective view mapping |
| Sensors | inReach connectivity on all Pro sizes; satellite weather; LiveTrack via LTE |
| Flashlight | Integrated LED flashlight with green light mode |
How the 8.4 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 10
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 6
- Field usability (15%)
- 10
- Value per decade (10%)
- 5
- Mission fit (5%)
- 9
What the spec sheet supports
- A titanium case, not just a titanium bezel; sapphire on top.
- Solar on select Pro models pushes the AMOLED fenix past 50 days for the first time.
- Twice the map storage of the fenix 8, with inReach built in.
Where it falls short
- Weeks old at the time of writing; there is no long-term ownership record yet.
- The press release we cite does not spell out a MIL-STD-810 line, so we do not claim one.
- Subscription needed for the inReach and LTE features.
Skip this if…
…a fenix 8 Solar does everything you need for less, now that it has a successor.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Garmin fenix 9 Pro (51mm)
Rank 5
Stock photoBest light mapping watch
COROS NOMAD
Maps with trail and street names, 50 all-systems hours, 61 g; mineral glass and 5 ATM.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Rechargeable GPS. A rechargeable lithium cell charged from a cable. Days to a few weeks per charge; the cell ages with every cycle. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | 22 days daily use |
| Battery (GPS) | 50 hours all systems on; 56 hours endurance mode; 34 hours dual-frequency |
| Glass | Hardened mineral glass |
| Bezel & case | Fiber reinforced polymer with aluminum alloy bezel |
| Water rating | 5 ATM (surface water activities, not diving) |
| Maps & GPS | Landscape maps with trail and street names, topo maps; dual-frequency GNSS |
| Weight | 61 g with silicone band; 49 g with nylon band |
| Size | 47.8 × 47.8 × 14.8 mm |
How the 6.9 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 7
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 6
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 6
- Field usability (15%)
- 8
- Value per decade (10%)
- 8
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Trail and street names on the map layer, which a Garmin Instinct cannot show at all.
- Lightest mapping watch on the site.
Where it falls short
- Mineral glass and 5 ATM.
- No solar, no flashlight.
Skip this if…
…your season involves wading; 5 ATM and mineral glass are the wrong pair for a river.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to COROS NOMAD
Rank 6
Stock photoThe G-Shock with GPS
G-Shock Rangeman GPR-H1000
Multi-band GNSS in a 200 m mud-resistant case; 14 to 19 GPS hours per charge.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Rechargeable GPS. A rechargeable lithium cell charged from a cable. Days to a few weeks per charge; the cell ages with every cycle. |
|---|---|
| Battery (smartwatch) | About 14 days with heart rate and sleep monitoring worn during sleep; about 2 months with heart rate monitoring off |
| Battery (GPS) | Running/walking/trekking: about 14 hours (HIGH GPS), 16 hours (NORMAL), 19 hours (LONG) |
| Power | Lithium-ion battery; wired USB charging with solar-assisted charging |
| Glass | Mineral |
| Water rating | 200 meters; shock resistant; mud resistant |
| Display | MIP LCD |
| Maps & GPS | GPS, QZSS, Galileo, BeiDou, GLONASS on L1/L5 |
| Sensors | Heart rate (30-220 bpm), accelerometer, barometric pressure, temperature |
| Weight | 92 g |
| Size | 60.6 × 53.2 × 20.3 mm |
How the 6.9 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 6
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 7
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 7
- Field usability (15%)
- 8
- Value per decade (10%)
- 6
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Dual-frequency GNSS in a G-Shock case with 200 m and mud resistance.
- Two months of watch-mode battery with heart rate off, per Casio's manual.
Where it falls short
- 14 to 19 GPS hours is a third of a Garmin Instinct 3 Solar's GPS-only figure.
- 20.3 mm thick and 92 g.
- Solar 'assist' tops up; it does not replace the USB cable the way Tough Solar does.
Skip this if…
…you want GPS tracking for more than a day out; the Instinct 3 Solar triples the hours.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to G-Shock Rangeman GPR-H1000
How we scored this
Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best GPS watch for hunting?
The Garmin fenix 8 Solar for maps, multi-band and 149 solar GPS hours; the Instinct 3 Solar if you need a track but not a map; the Enduro 3 for the longest GPS battery with maps.
Do hunting GPS watches show property lines?
Garmin's TopoActive maps on the fenix and Enduro and COROS's downloadable layers show a base map on the wrist; whether a specific boundary layer is available depends on the map data and the region, and we do not claim coverage we cannot cite.
Is the G-Shock GPR-H1000 good for hunting?
It puts multi-band GNSS in a 200 m mud-resistant G-Shock case, at 14 to 19 GPS hours per charge per Casio. Good for a day; the solar Garmins are rated for a week.
Keep reading
Related on Bezel & Bearing
Receipts
Sources
- Garmin — fenix 8 Series Owner's Manual, Battery Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — fenix 8 Series press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Battery Life Information (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin — Instinct 3 Solar Series Owner's Manual, Glances (sunrise/sunset, moon phase, ABC) (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — Enduro 3 press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- Garmin newsroom — fenix 9 and fenix 9 Pro press release (checked 2026-09-20)
- COROS — VERTIX 2S / APEX / NOMAD specification tables (checked 2026-09-20)
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3554 (GPR-H1000 Rangeman), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- G-Central — G-Shock GPR-H1000 Rangeman spec sheet (checked 2026-09-20)
We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.