Tactical / The rankings
The best military watches: seven non-smart watches that need no charger, no app and no permission
No Bluetooth, no GPS, nothing to update. Solar cells, coin cells and tritium tubes on cases rated 200 m and better. Ranked from the makers' documents for a service career, not a workout.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-sheet researched, not worn by us
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400 Tough Solar, radio time, ABC sensors, sunrise/sunset, 200 m, mud-resistant, cold-rated, a module with over a decade in production. | Best military watch overallSolar, no charger | 8.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Marathon 41mm Large Diver's Quartz (TSAR) 316L steel, sapphire, 30 ATM, tritium and MaraGlo, ETA high-torque quartz; developed to Canadian government SAR requirements and used by Canadian and U.S. militaries, per Marathon. | Best issued analogReplaceable cell | 8.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() G-Shock GW-M5610U Tough Solar and Multi-Band 6 in the smallest G-Shock case; about 10 months dark per Casio. | Best solar squareSolar, no charger | 8.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L ISO-certified 200 m diver on Eco-Drive, never takes a battery, five-year limited warranty. | Best solar analogSolar, no charger | 7.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() G-Shock DW-5600E The original square: 200 m, 52 g, a coin cell rated about five years. | Best cheap issue watchReplaceable cell | 7.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Luminox Original Navy SEAL 3001 Constant tritium glow up to 25 years, 200 m, CARBONOX, 50 g, five-year battery. | Best tritium analogReplaceable cell | 7.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() Suunto Core Alpha NVG-compatible red backlight, ABC sensors, 12-month coin cell; 30 m water rating. | Best for night-vision useReplaceable cell | 7.5 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from the makers' manuals, battery tables and spec pages, not field tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Why a non-smart list
Because for a lot of service members the tactical smartwatch question is answered by a rulebook before it is answered by a spec sheet. Wireless devices are restricted in enough places that a watch with no radio is the watch that is always allowed. This list is that watch, seven ways, ranked on the same rubric as everything else: power independence, materials, serviceability, field usability, value per decade, mission fit. The smartwatch list is best tactical smartwatch, and the combined field is best tactical watches.
Three power systems, all of them good
- Tough Solar / Eco-Drive. The Rangeman, the GW-M5610U and the Citizen charge from any light and never see a cable. Casio's guides rate the Rangeman about 8 months and the square about 10 months in total darkness; Citizen's page says Eco-Drive "eliminates the need to replace watch batteries."
- Coin cell. The DW-5600E (CR2016, about five years) and Core Alpha (CR2032, up to 12 months) run on a cell any watchmaker swaps. No charging, no electronics to age.
- Quartz battery. The Luminox lists a 60-month battery on a RONDA 515; Marathon lists an ETA high-torque F06 and no battery figure. Same idea as the coin cell in a Swiss movement.
None of these is a sealed rechargeable cell cycling weekly. That is the entire reason this list exists and the reason its scores are high; the cross-brand version is best solar watches.
Reading it at night
Tritium tubes on the Marathon and Luminox glow without a button for the life of the tubes (Luminox says up to 25 years). That is the quietest possible night light: nothing to press, nothing that blooms. The Core Alpha has a red backlight Suunto describes as NVG compatible. The Casios have LED or EL lights you control, with the Rangeman's auto-light a setting you can turn off. Which you need depends on whether you wear optics.
Issued, approved and "worn by"
The mistake buyers make
Buying the Core Alpha for the red backlight and swimming in it. Suunto rates it 30 m; every other watch here is 200 m or better. The second mistake is bringing the expensive one to training; the basic training guide explains why the DW-5600E exists.
The decade pick
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest military watch overall
G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400
Tough Solar, radio time, ABC sensors, sunrise/sunset, 200 m, mud-resistant, cold-rated, a module with over a decade in production.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | Approximately 8 months from full charge to Level 4 with no light (Casio's stated usage conditions) |
| Power | Solar panel and one rechargeable battery (Tough Solar) |
| Glass | Mineral crystal |
| Water rating | 200 meters |
| Sensors | Digital compass, barometer, altimeter, thermometer; sunrise/sunset; Multi-Band 6 time calibration (WWVB, DCF77, MSF, JJY, BPC) |
| Weight | 93 g |
| Size | 55.2 × 53.5 × 18.2 mm |
| Operating temp | Low-temperature resistance -10°C (14°F) |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 7
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 10
- Field usability (15%)
- 7
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Solar and atomic: it sets itself from a radio signal and never sees a cable.
- A module that has been in production for over a decade; parts, straps and bezels are everywhere.
- Sunrise/sunset on the watch, the one hunting feature the Garmin Instinct does without a phone.
Where it falls short
- Mineral crystal, not sapphire; the Rangeman lives behind a raised bezel for a reason.
- No GPS, no maps, no heart rate. It tells you where north is, not where you are.
- Big and thick at 18.2 mm.
Skip this if…
…you want a track of where you walked; an ABC watch measures the world, it does not map it.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400
Rank 2
Stock photoBest issued analog
Marathon 41mm Large Diver's Quartz (TSAR)
316L steel, sapphire, 30 ATM, tritium and MaraGlo, ETA high-torque quartz; developed to Canadian government SAR requirements and used by Canadian and U.S. militaries, per Marathon.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Replaceable cell. A replaceable coin cell measured in years. No charging, no electronics to update, and the cheapest thing on the watch to service. |
|---|---|
| Power | ETA High-Torque F06 quartz |
| Glass | Sapphire |
| Bezel & case | 316L stainless steel; 41 mm; 14 mm thick; unidirectional bezel; screw-down crown |
| Water rating | 30 ATM |
| Sensors | Tritium gas tubes and MaraGlo luminescent material |
| Warranty | Two years, plus an extra year on registration |
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 8
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 10
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 9
- Field usability (15%)
- 6
- Value per decade (10%)
- 5
- Mission fit (5%)
- 9
What the spec sheet supports
- Sapphire and 30 ATM on a quartz that is actually issued, per Marathon.
- Tritium plus lume, so it glows whether or not it saw light.
Where it falls short
- The most expensive non-smart watch on the site.
- Marathon's page does not state a battery life figure, so we do not.
Skip this if…
…you want a watch to do more than tell time and survive; nothing about it is digital.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Marathon 41mm Large Diver's Quartz (TSAR)
Rank 3
Stock photoBest solar square
G-Shock GW-M5610U
Tough Solar and Multi-Band 6 in the smallest G-Shock case; about 10 months dark per Casio.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | Approximately 10 months with no light (Casio's stated conditions, power saving 6 hours/day) |
| Power | Solar panel and one rechargeable battery |
| Glass | Mineral (square case family) |
| Water rating | 200 meters; shock resistant (DW-5600 square case family) |
| Sensors | Multi-Band 6 radio time calibration; world time; 5 alarms |
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 10
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 6
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 10
- Field usability (15%)
- 6
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 6
What the spec sheet supports
- Ten months of stated dark running, the longest solar figure Casio publishes among the watches here.
- Atomic time and solar in the smallest G-Shock case.
Where it falls short
- Same flat mineral crystal as the DW-5600.
- No sensors.
Skip this if…
…you need a compass or altimeter on the watch; step up to the Rangeman.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to G-Shock GW-M5610U
Rank 4
Stock photoBest solar analog
Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L
ISO-certified 200 m diver on Eco-Drive, never takes a battery, five-year limited warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Solar, no charger. A solar cell that recharges from any light and never meets a charger. The rechargeable cell is a watchmaker-replaceable part. |
|---|---|
| Power | E168 Eco-Drive: powered by any light source, no battery replacement |
| Glass | Anti-reflective mineral crystal |
| Bezel & case | Stainless steel, 44 mm; polyurethane strap |
| Water rating | 200M/20Bar, ISO-certified dive watch |
| Warranty | 5-year limited warranty |
How the 7.9 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 9
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 7
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 9
- Field usability (15%)
- 6
- Value per decade (10%)
- 9
- Mission fit (5%)
- 6
What the spec sheet supports
- A five-year warranty is the longest on the site.
- Solar analog with an ISO dive rating for the price of a Rangeman.
Where it falls short
- Mineral crystal.
- Citizen's page does not state a dark-running power reserve for this model.
Skip this if…
…you want a sapphire diver; Citizen's page names mineral for this one.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Citizen Promaster Dive BN0151-09L
Rank 5
Stock photoBest cheap issue watch
G-Shock DW-5600E
The original square: 200 m, 52 g, a coin cell rated about five years.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Replaceable cell. A replaceable coin cell measured in years. No charging, no electronics to update, and the cheapest thing on the watch to service. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | CR2016, approx. 5 years |
| Glass | Mineral |
| Bezel & case | Resin case and band |
| Water rating | 200 meters; shock resistant |
| Weight | 52 g |
| Size | 48.9 × 42.8 × 13.4 mm |
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 8
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 6
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 10
- Field usability (15%)
- 6
- Value per decade (10%)
- 10
- Mission fit (5%)
- 6
What the spec sheet supports
- In production since 1987 with a module refresh in 2023; parts and straps will exist for the rest of your life.
- A five-year coin cell is the longest-stated battery on the site.
- Small enough for any wrist and any cuff.
Where it falls short
- Mineral crystal on a flat face with a low bezel; it scratches.
- No sensors, no solar, no radio time.
Skip this if…
…you want it to set itself; the GW-M5610U is the same square with solar and radio time.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to G-Shock DW-5600E
Rank 6
Stock photoBest tritium analog
Luminox Original Navy SEAL 3001
Constant tritium glow up to 25 years, 200 m, CARBONOX, 50 g, five-year battery.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Replaceable cell. A replaceable coin cell measured in years. No charging, no electronics to update, and the cheapest thing on the watch to service. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | Swiss quartz RONDA 515; battery life 60 months |
| Glass | Hardened mineral crystal (550-650 Vickers) |
| Bezel & case | CARBONOX case, 43 mm, 12 mm thick; unidirectional rotating bezel; rubber strap |
| Water rating | 200 meters / 660 feet / 20 ATM |
| Sensors | Tritium illumination: constant glow for up to 25 years, no charging, no button pushing |
| Weight | 50 g |
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 8
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 7
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 9
- Field usability (15%)
- 7
- Value per decade (10%)
- 7
- Mission fit (5%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Tritium: readable at 3 a.m. without touching it, for the life of the tubes.
- Fifty grams and 200 m; a five-year battery any watchmaker can change.
Where it falls short
- Hardened mineral, not sapphire.
- A quartz analog tells the time and nothing else.
Skip this if…
…you need a compass, a timer you can read in gloves, or anything a digital does.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Luminox Original Navy SEAL 3001
Rank 7
Stock photoBest for night-vision use
Suunto Core Alpha
NVG-compatible red backlight, ABC sensors, 12-month coin cell; 30 m water rating.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Power class | Replaceable cell. A replaceable coin cell measured in years. No charging, no electronics to update, and the cheapest thing on the watch to service. |
|---|---|
| Battery (cell) | CR2032; up to 12 months of battery life in time mode |
| Glass | Mineral crystal |
| Bezel & case | Aluminum bezel; composite case; textile strap |
| Water rating | 30 m (suitable for shallow snorkeling to 10 m) |
| Sensors | Altimeter, barometer, compass with adjustable declination; night-vision-goggle-compatible red backlight |
| Weight | 67 g / 2.36 oz |
| Operating temp | -20°C to +60°C (-5°F to +140°F) |
How the 7.5 score breaks down
- Battery & power independence (25%)
- 8
- Durability of materials (25%)
- 5
- Serviceability & lifespan (20%)
- 9
- Field usability (15%)
- 8
- Value per decade (10%)
- 8
- Mission fit (5%)
- 9
What the spec sheet supports
- Red backlight built for NVG use, on a watch with no radio to go silent.
- A user-replaceable CR2032 and no charger, ever.
Where it falls short
- 30 m is the lowest water rating on the site; a G-Shock Rangeman is 200 m.
- Mineral crystal and a composite case.
Skip this if…
…your watch goes in the water for anything more than rain; the Rangeman does the ABC job at 200 m.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Suunto Core Alpha
How we scored this
Watches we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they took every watch up a mountain. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the maker's own battery table mode by mode, check what the lens and case are actually made of, note the water rating and whether a MIL-STD-810 claim exists, ask how long the maker keeps updating the line, and score every pick on a public rubric weighted for a decade of ownership. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
What watch does the military issue?
The only issue statement on this page we can cite to a maker is Marathon's: the TSAR was developed to Canadian government SAR requirements and is used by Canadian and U.S. militaries. Everything else is reported use, not issue.
Are G-Shocks good military watches?
The Rangeman and the squares are on this list for solar or coin-cell power, 200 m ratings, shock resistance and no transmitter. They are the most-reported watches across services; see best G-Shock for military.
Is tritium safe on a watch?
Luminox and Marathon both sell tritium-tube watches under U.S. regulation; Luminox states constant glow up to 25 years with no charging. We do not make health claims beyond what the makers publish.
Keep reading
Related on Bezel & Bearing
Receipts
Sources
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3410 (GW-9400 Rangeman), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- Pilot Mall — Casio G-Shock Rangeman GW9400-1 listing (case size, weight, water rating) (checked 2026-09-20)
- Casio — Operation Guide, module 3495 (GW-M5610U), Specifications (checked 2026-09-20)
- G-Central — G-Shock DW-5600 spec sheet (checked 2026-09-20)
- Marathon Watch — 41mm Large Diver's Quartz (TSAR) product page (checked 2026-09-20)
- Luminox — Original Navy SEAL 3001 product page (checked 2026-09-20)
- Citizen — Promaster Dive BN0151-09L product page (checked 2026-09-20)
- Suunto — Core Alpha Stealth product page and tech specs (checked 2026-09-20)
We don't own or wear-test these watches and we don't pretend to. Battery, glass, case and water figures come from the maker's own owner's manuals, spec pages and press releases (linked on every product), and where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.